2019 Annual Meeting, Nov 23-26

The 2019 Annual Meeting will be in San Diego, CA, November 23-26. Register Now!

2020 Regional Meetings

Open Calls for Papers:

Deadline: October 1, 2019

Deadline: October 1, 2019

Deadline: October 15, 2019

Pacific Northwest
Deadline: January 20, 2020

2017 Annual Meeting Travel Grant Winners Announced

Annual Meeting Travel GrantsReligion and the Arts Travel Grant

The AAR is pleased to announce that Yohana Agra Junker Souza of Graduate Theological Union is the winner of the Religion and the Arts Travel Grant. This grant is designed for a graduate student studying Religion and the Arts who is without institutional support to attend the AAR Annual Meeting. The jury evaluated each application based on need, active record of membership and involvement in AAR activities, and promising contributions to religion and the arts at this year’s Annual Meeting.

Annual Meeting Travel Grants

The AAR is pleased to announce the winners of our Annual Meeting Travel Grants. These grants are designed to aid members, especially students, contingent faculty, and international members, to attend the Annual Meeting. For these 27 grants for 2017, the AAR received 104 applications. The jury was impressed with the qualifications and achievements represented in the applicant pool, and exercised great care in evaluating each application to identify candidates based on active records of membership and involvement in the AAR, and candidates with the most promising contributions to this year’s meeting.

The 27 grantees are

Elizabeth Anderson, Episcopal Divinity School
Torang Asadi, Duke University
Isa Babur, Igdir University, Turkey
Alease Brown, Stellenbosch University
Stephanie Budwey, Kirchliche Hochschule, Wuppertal, Germany
Jessica Couch, University of Georgia
Laurens de Rooij, University of Cape Town
Marco Derks, Utrecht University
Martin Ganeri, University of London, University of Oxford
Gary Gardiner, University of the West Indies
Enoch Gbadegesin, Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife
Jeremy Guida, Santa Barbara, CA
Steven Harris, Hamilton, Ontario
Ally Kern, Claremont School of Theology
Minji Lee, Rice University
Jingjing Li, McGill University
Sarah MacDonald, Emory University
Baiju Markose, Lutheran School of Theology at Chicago
Robert Overy-Brown, Claremont Graduate University
Jesse Perillo, DePaul University/Central Michigan University
Jyoti Raghu, University of Oxford
Anne Read, University of Waterloo
Matthew Robertson, University of California, Santa Barbara
Rachael Shillitoe, University of Worcester
Kris Trujillo, University of California, Berkeley
Jason Winslade, DePaul University
Stephanie Yuhas, Naropa University


The AAR would like to thank the members of the jury for both grants: Christopher Duncanson-Hales, Alex Hwang, Davina Lopez, Matthew Lynch, Evelyn Parker, and Michelene Pesantubbee for their hard work in evaluating all of the applications to reach these decisions.